21 December 2017


Geographical location

Montenegro is situated in the Western Balkans region in the southwest of Europe. It borders Croatia to the west, Bosnia and Herzegovina to the northwest, Serbia to the northeast, Kosovo to the east, and Albania to the southeast, with a coast on the Adriatic Sea to the southwest in the length of 293.5 km. Montenegro has the surface of 13,812 km2 and the population of 620,029 (according to the 2011 Census). The country is divided into three regions: the coastal, the central and the northern. The terrain ranges from high mountains and plateaus in the northern part of the country to a narrow coastline. The capital city of Montenegro is Podgorica while Cetinje is designated as the Old Royal Capital.

Source: https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/graphics/maps/mj-map.gif 

Location of the country on the international transport routes

Montenegro is a part of the Berlin process/Connectivity Agenda which contributes to the establishment of Core Transport Network in the Western Balkans region following the approach of European Union policy in the field of development of trans-European transport and energy networks, in accordance with the existing EU initiatives in transport – TEN-T and SEETO (the South East European Transport Observatory). Indicative extension of the CORE TEN-T network on the Western Balkans region is planned to be confirmed by the European regulation, as was done for the Indicative extension through TEN-T network maps on the Western Balkans through regulation (EU) 1315 / 2013 ANNEX III. The defined Core Transport Network on the territory of Montenegro is made up of: SEETO road route 4: Bar-Boljare highway (up to the border with Serbia); SEETO road route 1: Adriatic-Ionian Corridor (speedway along a Montenegrin coastline, connection with Croatia and Albania); SEETO rail route 4: Bar-Vrbnica railway (up to the border with Serbia); SEETO route 2: Podgorica-Tirana railway (connection with Albania); -port of Bar; -Podgorica airport. Core Transport Network in the region of Western Balkans is now included in the extension of the three key Trans-European corridors to the WB region (Mediterranean, Orient-East Mediterranean and the Rajna-Dunav Corridor).

Maps of the Indicative TEN-T Extention to the Western Balkans (Core and Comprehensive Networks), from the Transport Community Treaty (signed during the Western Balkans Summit in Trieste on July 12, 2017). The TCT is preceeded by the Memorandum of Understanding on the development of the South East Europe Core Regional Transport Network (SEETO Memorandum) which represents a cornerstone of the EU policy towards the Western Balkan countries in the field of transport.

Ministry of Transport and Maritime Affairs of Montenegro